Tropical Storm Bill

Well, I was concerned about not getting enough precipitation to fill up my samplers, but my fears have proven to be unfounded! We’ve been drenched quite a bit while I’m here, but I can’t celebrate too much because 12 people died, and 2 children are still missing in Memorial Day flooding. Tropical Storm Bill has moved into our area, and we’re under a flash flood watch, and schools are closing. Originally, I had been slated to return tomorrow, but I will extend my trip for a couple of extra days so I don’t get stuck at the airport.

Threatening skies at FARF (Forensic Anthropology Research Facility) at Texas State.

Threatening skies at FARF (Forensic Anthropology Research Facility) at Texas State.

IMG_20150615_182947612_HDR (1)

Besides, everyone here has been so welcoming! One of the wonderful things about travelling is getting exposed to new techniques and ideas, and explaining your research to others. I had a great conversation this morning with Forensic Odontologist Dr. James Fancer, DDS, PhD, and got some great advice about tooth extraction techniques. I also got to see the newest results from their 3D printer.

3D printed skulls can be used for teaching or research.

3D printed skulls can be used for teaching or research.

