Dark Ages Radio Explorer

Hello,
My name is Sarah Easterbrook, and I am sophomore studying Aerospace Engineering at Arizona State University. I am currently working on a radio astronomy project named DARE (Dark Ages Radio Explorer). The main goal of this project is to map the electromagnetic spectrum to determine the date that the first stars formed in our universe.

The first prototype for the scientific instrument has just been completed, and I will be blogging about the stages of the design and testing process that is about to ensue. The path that lies ahead in this process will take the team to many places around the world. I will be giving you a window into the travels to West Virginia, Australia, and eventually (hopefully!) the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean. My goal is to spark the interest of fellow engineers and scientists in the discoveries about our early universe by providing updates on the development of this new technology.

Hope you all enjoy this adventure that is DARE!
Sarah

