My responsibilities…

So while we are at sea, I am responsible for measuring physical properties on the cores that we recover. Physical properties include: Moisture & Density (MAD), Thermal conductivity (T-C), resistivity, and P-wave velocity. These parameters each give information that helps us to characterize the sediments and their lithologies as well as their state of consolidation or deformation. These data provide important context for interpreting the geochemical, petrological, and microbiological data down the core. These measurements are not difficult but they do require a certain “attention to detail”. Those of you who know me well, will agree, I’m more than well suited for this sort of work!

Here’s a picture from the stern (back) of the ship that I took while on a tour of the drilling operation and the engine room today.

